True Faith

“Faith does not operate in the realm of the possible. There is no glory for God in that which is humanly possible. Faith begins where man’s power ends.” (George Mueller) 

I was reading from Streams in the Desert this morning..a devotional that I highly recommend. The entry was written by George Mueller..so I decided to look him up. I’ve read about him in the past and to be honest, his faith was always overwhelming to me. Here was a man who literally fed thousands of orphans over his lifetime without ever soliciting money or getting into debt. He prayed and trusted God with a faith that was absolutely amazing.

Until very recently.. I felt fearful of that type of faith..would God expect me to trust him the way George did? Was I going to be put to the test when it came to my own faith? Would God come through like he did for this saint that lived in the 19th century. My attitude today has changed.. I want that type of faith. Yes.. I still feel afraid of what that means, but I am willing to walk with Him believing that He will provide in the same way that he did two centuries ago. He is the same God.

For the last ten years I have been wrestling with the idolatry that was in my family growing up.. the same one that is found here in our country and all over the world. Will we worship God or money?..We can’t worship both.  In order to fully follow Him with hearts that are surrendered to His purposes we have to trust Him to provide for us and to bless us with enough to do all the things He has called us to do.

With the economic downturn, the Lord is enabling us to exercise faith and readjust ourselves to His priorities. I see the blessing in this process. My husband his been unemployed for almost a year..my own faith has been tested and I have wrestled with the Lord. Yet, I have seen him provide in so many unexpected ways..He is faithful.

I want to be like George Mueller and trust God for everything.. to pray without ceasing..knowing that He will come through at exactly the right time in the perfect way. There is only one way to grow in faith..it is to trust Him when we have no power to solve our own problems. To rely on Him when He is all we have.

bible-god-quotes-183

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “True Faith

  1. Alicia, thank you for this encouraging post. I just read the March 1st devotion in “Streams in the Dessert” earlier this morning. I love this book. My husband just found out yesterday that the company he works for is closing its doors at the end of summer and has sold its building.

    We’ve been through this before over 18 yrs ago.

    Here’s a quote from the reading: “It is a platform for the display of His almighty grace and power.”

    I’m scared; I’m trusting.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    • Wendy..we have been through many seasons of unemployment over the last 12 years since we got married. The first time it happened was when we returned from our honeymoon.. God did not waste any time teaching us to trust him. It is always scary and difficult, but He has never failed to teach us about His sovereignty and to come through for us to meet us abundantly.

      I’ll be praying for you.
      Blessings,
      Alicia

  2. “There is no glory for God in that which is humanly possible” is profound and true. God works through men but in the end I, too desire the radical faith that requires trust on a deeper level. I confess my powerlessness and total dependence upon God.

  3. Thank you. and Yes Lord, increase our faith and strengthen us as we waiver. I am so grateful that our struggle does not overwhelm the Lord. He is always the same and always faithful.

Leave a Reply

