Choices

Every single day we make many of these. In our culture we are continually bombarded with them. Just visit the local grocery store and try to choose a box of cereal or a package of cookies. So many choices..maybe too many. So which choices really matter? Not the ones I mentioned..nothing really hangs in the balance when you choose your favorite chocolate chip cookies. Other choices are much more important.

As we follow God we make the choice of how far to go with Him. He may be coaxing us out of our comfort zone..asking us to move into unknown territory. We can choose to resist His promptings. Our fears often direct our steps..I’ll do the thing I know I can do. I’ll take the road I that feels familiar. I’ll do what everyone else says I should do. I’ll play it safe because it’s easier. God waits. He waits until we are ready..to hear His voice..to step out..to move forward. He is patient and not demanding. In fact if you choose the way that is the most comfortable He is not going to be angry with you. He leaves it up to you.

I realized again recently that there is always a temptation to return to what is known. Do you really want me to venture out into unknown territory again? Can’t I just play it safe and do what is comfortable and easy? God says ” Yes you can..but you will miss out on the best thing because you are choosing what seems good in your own eyes.” Wow! ..the best thing..I don’t want to miss out on that. So..face the fear and the unbelief and take the path that He carving out for you. He will take you by the hand..step by step..and lead you to new experiences that you never imagined possible.

His ways are not ours and His thoughts are not even close to our own. We cannot figure out the mind of God but we can be sure that He only has great things for us as we follow Him. There are risks and challenges on this road..but He is our safe place. He is with us!

“Put your hope in the Lord. Travel steadily along His path. He will honor you by giving you the land…the Lord rescues the godly…and they find shelter in Him.”

4 thoughts on “Choices

  1. Your messages are always so encouraging, even when offering messages of conviction. God has been doing wonderful things with my life and it is a joy to follow Him. Knowing I am in God’s will, and having that confirmed by other faithful, mature, Christian women just doubles the blessings. Thank you for being faithful to post often.

    Serving with Jesus,

    Lynn

  2. Thank you Lynn. I’m always glad to hear from people who read this blog. God is amazing and so faithful to guide us and surprise us.. Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is a joy when someone responds to my writing.
    xox Alicia

  3. Thanks Merrill.. it is the end of Psalm 37.. v 34 to the end. This is a great psalm when it comes to remembering His provision and faithfulness.
    xo Alicia

Leave a Reply

