Endurance

DSCN3650

This is the word that the Lord gave me this morning as I sat down to write this post. I looked it up and here is what I found.

  1. The fact or power of enduring or bearing pain, hardships, etc.
  2. The ability or strength to continue or last, especially despite fatigue, stress, or other adverse conditions; stamina:

That definition fits.. the ability to continue or last despite weariness and stress.. I am experiencing that right now. God has chosen to leave me in a difficult situation for a long time. There have been many years of struggle.. things that I longed for have not happened yet. He has not rescued me, but He has provided for me during this season. His provision has been amazing and His blessings have been wonderful.. yet I am tired and longing for a rest.

His promise is not that we won’t have trouble but that He will be with us as we walk through our troubles. His gift to us is His spirit that strengthens us and fills us when we are broken and empty. He renews our strength and brings unexpected encouragement so we never forget His presence. I am so grateful for those amazing things that He does. Eventually He brings deliverance.. but how that will come and when is His business. So what are we to do in the meantime?

For me.. I only hear one thing” Be still and know that I am God.” These are His words..remember that He is our security and our sufficiency. We may not know anything about the future or make sense of our circumstances, but we can know that God is the same..He never changes.. He is faithful and He will keep all of His promises to us as we trust Him.  I love this passage from 2 Chronicles chapter 20..

“Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the Lord says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s.”

Help us all to remember these words Lord as we continue to faithfully follow you..

DSCN3656

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Endurance

  1. You are welcome Wendy.. isn’t it amazing to realize that if we are still and know that He is God, we feel safe again.. I am in awe of how that works.. xo Alicia

  2. Alicia, I never cease to be amazed at the parallels that I see between our faith walks! Be Still and Know is my verse for the year. God has given me multiple tag lines for that opener….Be still and know rest is one of the most recent. He who began a good work in you (and me) will be faithful to complete it! Yes Lord.

  3. My phrase for this year is stand still,wait, and pray.. all of the things I need for this season. My word is Breathe.. it goes right along with the resting, trusting, leaning etc. I love that we are learning so many of the same things.. miss you.
    xo Alicia

Leave a Reply

