Remembering the important things..

 Remembering the important things…I consider it an essential part of the life of a Believer. It is related to reflecting but more intentional.. When I am feeling insecure and fearful there is nothing that helps me more than remembering the goodness of God. We all have history with Him. If we sit down and allow ourselves to look back on all the times He has rescued us.. all the ways He has surprised us.. all the important moments in life when suddenly God was present with us.. in trials and in joyful times. Lately I have been taking the time to remember.. probably because yesterday was the 15th anniversary of the day I met my husband. I often tell the story of how it happened.. people enjoy hearing it and I love telling it. It is a reminder of how God orchestrates things perfectly and how He has a plan unfolding.

In reality we can never know the future.. but sometimes we are able to plan and look ahead.. other times we cannot make plans and looking ahead can feel like falling off the edge of a cliff.  These are times to reflect on the past.. remember when you felt like you could not go another step? You made it through and even though it seemed impossible you are here and life continues to unfold one day at a time. God’s faithfulness shines through as we step back and look at the bigger picture of our lives. He was present with us at every critical juncture.. He has stepped in repeatedly to save us from harm .. we may not even be aware of His protection over our lives.. He picks up the pieces and makes beautiful things that are beyond our wildest imagination. I have seen this in my life and I know He is at work in yours doing the exact same thing.

Do you have some time to be still.. to remember? I hope so because life is too short to just keep pushing forward. We need to stop and reflect.. to find a quiet place to look at all He has done and to be encouraged that He has not changed and He will continue to come for us and be in the midst of all the hard things we may be facing.  God’s love for us is our safe haven in these times.. we need to take refuge in Him.. knowing that He will never fail us.

 

For the Lord your God is living among you.
    He is a mighty savior.
He will take delight in you with gladness.
    With his love, he will calm all your fears.
    He will rejoice over you with joyful songs. (Zephaniah 3:17)

DSCN3880

 

DSCN3847

10 thoughts on “Remembering the important things..

  1. Exactly..we can get a better perspective on a period of suffering as we remember how God came through for us in other seasons.. it is very comforting.

  2. We sat down next to each other at a dinner that was held at my daughter’s church. My husband was sitting with friends and they asked him to move so their aunt could sit with them and I had no place to sit because all the other seats were taken. We were both waiting for God to show us the right person and He did. That was on the day before Easter 2001 and we were married on the day before Easter 2002. My daughter married 7 months earlier and 21/2 months after Steve I were married my first granddaughter Joy was born.. It was an amazing time. I was widowed and Steve had been single for 20 years.. God’s perfect timing.. Thanks for asking:)

  3. Thank you so much, Alicia, for sharing! Since you started writing these blogs I have been saving them. This new year I have started reading them more intentionally,one each day, and it is such a blessing.

Leave a Reply

