Celebrating Lent with art

I spent most of my Christian life never really appreciating Lent. Many churches don’t acknowledge this season and seem to ignore it. I am not sure why but I suspect it has to do with rejecting ritual or tradition.  I feel like I was missing something all those years and this year I have embraced Lent in a new way. I started googling Lent and scripture and came up with some very interesting websites. Many of them seem to spring from the more contemplative stream of the faith. As I began exploring and reading things from each site I suddenly saw an opportunity. Traditionally people give up things for Lent and I understand the reasoning behind this.. although admittedly I have not done much giving up during Lent in past years. This year I am joining in with giving something up.. that something is Facebook. I have only been on Facebook for less than a year and I have to admit that I think about giving it up permanently every time I visit the site.. Actually giving up Facebook the first time I was on it.. 5 years ago.. resulted in my starting this blog.. So here I am again thinking that God has a plan for me to do something that I can only understand if I quit that site and free up the time that it takes from my life.

So since yesterday was the official beginning of Lent.. Ash Wednesday.. I stopped visiting the site and sure enough.. here I am back on my blog. Coincidence? I don’t think so. I love writing and I have not been very inspired since I started wasting so much time. I also started an art journal for Lent.. an idea that emerged today and I am very excited about sticking with it for the entire season of Lent.  I am journaling a new scripture every day for the 40 days of Lent.

The first day has been inspiring and I hope to draw closer to the Lord as I am faithful to listen each day and create my art journal. This is the type of project anyone can do.. you don’t need artistic talent and you definitely don’t need lots of art supplies. Any little journal or even one that you make yourself will work. At the end of the 40 days you will be able to look at what you have done and realize how far God has taken you by being intentional and focusing on Him every day until Easter.. For my journal, I took watercolor paper and cut it into small rectangles and punched holes in the sides. I tied them together with ribbon and that was all there was to it.. very easy. I hope to do a different type of thing on each page.. giving the scripture reference and a phrase that jumps out at me. I plan to post some pictures of what I am doing as I go along.

So why not do something creative this year and let yourself enjoy Lent. Yes you might have to give something up to make this happen.. but think about how much you will gain in the end. This season only happens once each year and it ends in a celebration of the life God has given us! Preparing for the celebration will bring thankfulness and joy into our hearts and we will have those things to offer up to Him!

 

2212d69b6f10bc70e4d2f8e01b3b2336

 

 

5 thoughts on “Celebrating Lent with art

  1. Thank you, Alicia! For the link and your inspiring me to draw deeper into the Lord in Lebt through art. I look forward to seeing what He inspires you to do in your art💜

    • You are welcome.. I thought of you when I found that site:) My little Lent journal is already a blessing to me..focusing on a project for this season is exciting and I am eager to see how it draws me closer to HIs heart!

    • Thanks Teresa for the encouragement.. I always want to share my ideas and until recently did not realize my blog would be a great place to do it! Love this new art awakening in the Kingdom!

  2. HI Alicia.

    I have a new blog.

    Lovely to see your picture on FB, I think!! I had the idea you looked like a sweet silver haired old granny, but you look very young for your age!!!

    The Controversial Christian, formerly known as Tim!!

Leave a Reply

