February 2015

What happened to January? Well.. for me January was not the start I hoped for in this new year. My husband was sick for many weeks and a neighbor died rather suddenly of cancer. The weather was extremely dry after having so much wonderful rain in December. There is our continuing challenge as well..we are moving toward 2 years of unemployment for my husband. I don’t know about you, but every year I hope for a good beginning and get disappointed when that does not happen. This year was no exception.

In the midst of the difficulties.. I have seen God working in me and through me. I was able to minister to my neighbor’s wife because of the loss I suffered 15 years ago when I was widowed… I hope to continue to support her as she adjusts to a totally new life. God does not waste our suffering. I think the biggest learning curve for me is realizing the importance of leaning on the Lord. There is not a day that I don’t feel the need for more of Him and not an evening when I don’t realize that without Him I cannot carry on. A great lesson in humility and absolute dependency.

Two things have helped me during this season.. one is being part of an amazing church. It is amazing because the pastor teaches the Bible so well.. our current study is on the book of Isaiah and it is rich with lessons that we need in our times. God is speaking truth to his people through his servant Isaiah. So many wonderful  metaphors and prophecies. The second thing has been the discovery of a website called ” My Kingdom Come.” There is a great weekly study ” Take Me Deeper.” The site is filled with ideas for art journaling, photography, mixed media etc. A group called Logos365 is a wonderful opportunity to seek the Lord for a word and keep it in front of you.. for 2015.

Here is a link to the site:

http://his-kingdom-come.com/

I mention these things but I suspect you are struggling too. I pray that you will find those resources that God has for you as you trust Him and explore ways to dig deeper and move closer to His heart.

“When you go through deep waters, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you.”     (Isaiah 43:2)

IMG_4237

IMG_4215

DSCN1309

4 thoughts on “February 2015

  1. Thank you so much.. Resting in Him is the key.. some days I do well and on other days I fail.. but He takes me back in his arms freely and willingly.
    xoxo Alicia

  2. I have tead this once again today. It is still so fresh and sensitive as I remember it from my first reading. One phrase just grabs my heart, “God does not waste our suffering.” This is a complete message in just a few words. Six words! Thank you!

  3. You are welcome.. almost every single day I use the hardest experiences of my life to help someone else.. I’ve found it to be amazing the way God takes me through something and then brings someone into my life that needs comfort and understanding that I am able to give them. No.. He does not waste anything.
    xo Alicia

Leave a Reply

