Growing older..

I have this topic on my mind every December.. especially since my birthday is on New Years Eve. The year is ending and my age is changing at the same time. As the day approaches.. I look closely at my own emotional state..eager to see how God has been at work in my life and hopefully I am able to see changes in my character. This season of my life is focused on the deep things of the heart and I have been fortunate enough to have the time to really dig deep..to discern the priorities in my life and to pray for the fulfillment of God’s purposes in the lives of those around me.

Aging is not a popular topic in our culture.. everyone is focused on being young, or  trying to stay young, and looking young. Youth is overrated. If someone gave me a choice to go back and be young again or stay as I am..I would choose to be right where I am. I have wisdom and understanding now that is the result of life experiences and healing I have received from the Lord. I am very grateful and not ashamed of my wrinkles or grey hair.

Life is short and we have one chance to live fully. I hope to continue to do that.. even though I have limitations and my body is not what it used to be. God is still very present with me .. teaching me to rely on Him for extra energy and strength. Age is not an issue for Him since He is outside of time. We can learn from His example and stop trying to avoid the reality that we are all growing older daily.

As we are moving through this advent season and remembering the gift God has given us in His son..let’s focus on every precious day and trust Him for the challenges that we know are coming in 2015..We are able to rejoice in His goodness and faithfulness to us..knowing He will come for us when we call and never leave us or forsake us.

“Look! The virgin will conceive a child!
    She will give birth to a son,
and they will call him Immanuel, 
    which means ‘God is with us.’”     ( Matt 1:23)

IMG_0023

One thought on “Growing older..

  1. I have shared this because it is something that I think everyone can enjoy. We just had this conversation last week. My daughter said she wishes she could be 20 again; I replied, no, I would just be where I am today, I am happy with today.” Knowing that God is outside of time is a revelation to many people – there is on ly NOW and we can enjoy this moment now.

Leave a Reply

