The last stretch..

It is already December 3rd and Thanksgiving is behind us. Isn’t it amazing how fast time goes as the year comes to an end? It happens every year, but each time I am taken by surprise. We are definitely in the last stretch. This year was full of challenges and surprises..some wonderful, some painful.

I have to laugh as I look at the title of this post..the last stretch. I was thinking about how we are on that last part of the road.. finishing the year and looking ahead to another new beginning. Looking again it seems to mean that it is God’s last chance to really stretch me beyond my comfort zone for 2013.

Yes..2013 was the year that stretched me way beyond anything I might have imagined. What I mean is God has been at work in the deepest part of my character..teaching me to trust Him in some pretty dark moments. Asking me to believe when His presence was impossible to find. Continuing to assure me of His love when my feelings were not in agreement. At the same time He has given me so much more than I could have ever asked or imagined.

I hope that you have time to revisit this year before it is over and take some type of inventory.. remembering all that has happened and how He has been with you through every bit of it.

The journey continues and we put our hands in His..trusting that He has great things in store for us as we commit our way to Him.

He has promised us so many things and here is one of my favorite passages from the Message.. Jeremiah 29:11

“This is God’s Word on the subject: “As soon as Babylon’s seventy years are up and not a day before, I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for” 

P1010273

4 thoughts on “The last stretch..

  1. Life is a struggle and God never said that being a Christian would be an easy ride, but through the struggle and pain we overcome the sin we have within us and we might empathise with people in the world who do not have many of the luxuries and privileges we in the West take for granted. However, no one likes to suffer do they? God will lead you to peace and still waters, where He will lead us all when we merely follow Him faithfully and obediently.

  2. Your comment is very timely Tim.. We definitely have it easier than most of the world.. how convicting..it is so easy to complain and forget the many blessings we experience each day.

    Thanks for the reminder my friend,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

