Adversity

I am reading a very good book “Trusting God Even When Life Hurts” by Jerry Bridges and Eugene Peterson.  I’m about three-quarters of the way through and it is giving me insights into my own life and the challenges that I am currently facing.

I’ve been a follower of Jesus for the last 35 years and throughout that time my life has been filled with trials that I never expected. In the beginning of this journey I could have used a book like this. The author explores the topic thoroughly giving specifics and does not sugar coat the Christian life. He has lived through his own trials and it is clear that he has persevered and now has wisdom to share with others.

Adversity is a given when you follow God. We are not walking an easy road. There will be many twists and turns that  cause us to wonder if God is even aware of what is happening. We will find ourselves questioning and wondering if we are forgotten. Our character is being changed through these seasons. God uses whatever means necessary to reach down deep and mold us into His likeness. It is painful and we long for it to end long.. before it is time.

If you are struggling right now.. you may want to read this book. Books have often been the way God has spoken to me through the years. He wants to bring encouragement and understanding so we can continue to follow Him wholeheartedly and to finish well.

“I waited patiently for God to help me; then He listened and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out from the bog and the mire, and set my feet on a hard, firm path and steadied me as I walked along. He has given me a new song to sing, of praises to our God. Now many will hear of the glorious things He did for me, and stand in awe before the Lord, and put their trust in Him.”  (psalm 40: 1-3)

Let this be true for us Lord as we continue to trust you in all circumstances at all times!

DSCN1884

4 thoughts on “Adversity

  1. Thank You, God, for Alicia, and for speaking so clearly through her today in the language of my heart!
    Thank you, Alicia, for listening to our incredible God and sharing with us. I will definitely get the book and start reading! Thank you again, dear one.

Leave a Reply

