The winter season is still with us..

I am always ready for Spring long before it actually appears. The flowering plum trees are blooming here and so are the beautiful bulbs that push their way up through the soggy soil. So..Spring is not far away..in less than a month we will be celebrating the end of Winter. My calendar says the first day of this new season is March 20th.

I’m anxious to be in that season..the last two winters have been very difficult. The winter of 2011 and 2012 were especially challenging ..  overwhelming.. My prayer became a simple ” I trust you Lord” ..there was not much else to say. My heart was heavy and my body seemed to be working against me.. needing rest but unable to sleep. Yesterday I looked back and saw that both winters were rich in lessons that I needed to learn. Both winters brought healing to some very infected wounds that demanded attention. God is faithful to do the deep things in us that will free us up to be the person we were created to be.

When I find myself wishing for an easier road.. I know that the road He has prepared for me is the only way. If I want abundant life and if I choose to follow Him fully..the road is narrow  with just enough light for the next small step. He is holding me and will catch me if I fall. He is guiding me and moving me forward as I trust Him.

So..if you are tired of this winter season.. Trust God for that amazing, abundant Spring that He will unfold in His time!

“If you carefully obey all the commands I am giving you today, and if you love the Lord your God and serve him with all your heart and soul, then he will send the rains in their proper seasons—the early and late rains—so you can bring in your harvests of grain, new wine, and olive oil. He will give you lush pastureland for your livestock, and you yourselves will have all you want to eat.”

DSCN1607

DSCN1618

4 thoughts on “The winter season is still with us..

  1. I love the line, “God is faithful to do the deep things in us that will free us up to be the person we were created to be.” It is my experience that the best things about God are learned in the hardest times. Happy spring, and thanks for sharing!

  2. Yes, Alicia, roll on Spring! It is true that even when we endure aeful things, we learn sometimes the best lessons. God does not create bad things especially, but when go through them He is the bridge over troubled waters, and the bridges go from happiness to happiness and peace to peace, even whilst in the storm.

    Just one point; I love the scripture you quote here; could you possibly bookmark them so we could know what part of the Bible it’s from? 🙂

Leave a Reply

