Moving ahead..

So after a couple of weeks or was it months.. or maybe it was actually years of being set aside to work on myself, receive healing, and deal with family issues, God is beginning to show me some possibilities. He is renewing the hope that I can find new opportunities to use the gifts that He has given me to help others.

There are seasons when the future is so invisible and the present is so difficult.. we almost wonder if we are forgotten. Will it always be like this? Am I finished Lord? Will you leave me here forever? Our thoughts are circular and the light at the end of the tunnel seems to be growing dimmer. Those are difficult times..dark times.

Over the last several years I have cried out over and over again for God to change some very trying circumstances that seemed unbearable. He has not done that..it wasn’t the circumstances that needed to change it was me.  In fact as long as I was unable to get away from the painful things that were happening.. He had me right where He wanted me. He was teaching me to walk with Him in a new way. To go deeper in my faith..to become more fully His.

Suddenly I am hearing Him say.. just let go. He doesn’t mean die to your desire or kill your heart..He is saying Trust me..Believe that I am good..Remember what I have done for you..Draw near to me..Rely on me..Seek me..Put all your eggs in the basket with my name on it.. I will never forget you or abandon you.. I am your rescuer.. The love of your soul.

I am so humbled and grateful that He would give me exactly what I need to become the person He created me to be. Amazing isn’t it?

Here’s a word from Paul:

“We don’t want you in the dark, friends, about how hard it was when all this came down on us in Asia province. It was so bad we didn’t think we were going to make it. We felt like we’d been sent to death row, that it was all over for us. As it turned out, it was the best thing that could have happened. Instead of trusting in our own strength or wits to get out of it, we were forced to trust God totally—not a bad idea since he’s the God who raises the dead! And he did it, rescued us from certain doom. And he’ll do it again, rescuing us as many times as we need rescuing.”

4 thoughts on “Moving ahead..

  1. “Put all your eggs in the basket with my name on it” – I love that!
    So often we try to walk around instead of through the pain (or at least I do). Lovely post, Alicia!

    • Thanks so much Debbie. Isn’t it something how the thing we want to avoid turns out to be where He does the deepest work in our hearts..Our God is amazing!

  2. Utterly profound Alicia; one of the best posts I’ve read, You have a simplicity of touch and thought that is brilliant and illuminating. Perhaps we suffer such things sometimes so that we can talk about them and let others going through the same things know they are not alone, in their own ‘long dark night of the soul’?

    You wrote: ‘…it wasn’t the circumstances that needed to change it was me.’ Yes, the truth can be so simple that we simply overlook it, looking for complex answers and reasons. God is utter simplicity, infinite simplicity, even though He is the most complex and unknowable Being.

    I am suffering like you for a number of reasons, some things I have brought on myself, other things just circumstances that many other people go through. I try now to put all things into the Hands of God, and just let go… It’s not that simple for a ‘doer’ but it gets easier. We MUST have faith in this loving God. I’m certain He will see us through to the finishing line.

    • Thank you Tim.. what a wonderful compliment and such encouragement to continue writing. I am so glad my blog touches you and that you can relate with my journey..we are all travelers together and it is so good to have companions on the road of life.

Leave a Reply

