Set aside

My car has been in the shop for the last 10 days and I decided not to get a loaner. Instead I am taking this time to slow down and rest and to be alone. Today as I was walking in the valley, I began to realize that God had given me a personal retreat over the last week.

I am fortunate to live in an area surrounded by open space..walking here is so beautiful..trees with fall color and animals of all kinds. Since it is so dry, the deer are coming down lower and lower and they are very tame. It is an interesting experience to be walking along and suddenly come almost face to face with a buck..huge antlers and all!

I am reminded that my life is part of something bigger..and that somehow I am connected to both the beauty of nature and the amazing deer that roam this valley. Their life is simple..they eat, they rest, they walk..they are not worried and apparently not afraid.  A good example of how our lives can be if we walk in faith and let God lead us. I am so thankful for this time.. for being set aside to remember what really matters..to be with Him and to enjoy the gifts He has given me.

“Then Jesus said to his disciples: ‘Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?’”

This is the buck I saw today.. He let me take his picture! Isn’t he amazing?

3 thoughts on “Set aside

  1. Living in quite a big city, I envy those who live near open spaces and rural idylls. I just spent a short break in North Wales for that reason, it has open spaces and hills, valleys and dales, lonely off-the-beaten-track and even the towns have castles and old town houses to visit; I love it.

    I’m writing a book or two about Christian living and the piece of scripture you quoted above fits in exactly with something I am writing about.

  2. Thanks for stopping by Wendy..I am so glad you enjoyed reading this!

    Tim..I absolutely love that scripture.God uses it constantly to remind me not to worry..just wish I could keep it in my heart when the heat turns up 🙂

Leave a Reply

