We all grieve together..

When there is a tragedy in our nation.. we all grieve together. We may not talk much about that.. or acknowledge it openly.. but we are all grieving. Lives were lost for no reason.. innocent people were killed. No one saw it coming.

There have been many of these incidents in our country over the last decade. People are doing things that no one could have imagined until recently..there is no real explanation. All we can do is pray for those who remain and will continue to live without answers for the rest of their lives. We live in a fallen world and there are times when it is overwhelming. We are more at risk from others in this country than from outside forces..no one would have anticipated that outcome when 9/11 occurred.

Our hearts are heavy and we hope that we won’t experience what the people in Aurora are living through. We grieve with them and wish we could do something to help them recover. Their journey will be long as they try to make sense of a senseless act.

So where is God in all this? He is right where He always is in times like these. He is with us.. with the survivors.. with the grieving families.. He is the comforter and He weeps with the broken-hearted. He knows the pain of His people.. He is the healer and the redeemer. Our God is faithful and He has not changed. All we can do is trust in His goodness and pray for those who are are walking through the valley of the shadow of death.

“The Lord is my shepherd;
    I have all that I need.
 He lets me rest in green meadows;
    he leads me beside peaceful streams.
     He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
    bringing honor to his name.
 Even when I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid,
    for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff
    protect and comfort me.
 You prepare a feast for me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
    My cup overflows with blessings.
 Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
    all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the Lord
    forever.”

3 thoughts on “We all grieve together..

  1. These things seem so common now that, sadly, they don’t seem to shock anymore. But at the same time, we are shocked at why such a person would kill total strangers to him; that’s the hard bit. I won’t philosophise here because it’s not the time or place, suffice to say that the world is at best a disordered place, where sin and evil seem far more at home than goodness and mercy.

  2. We do know that God is good and that He is still at work even in these terrible situations. It is a difficult balance..trying to remember the sovereignty of God and at the same time acknowledging free will and our fallen world. We see through a glass darkly..

  3. I’ve just read Flathead Momma’s (Rebecca’s) blog about the same thing, and we suggested that ‘good’ people can do bad things. Our ‘goodness’ is vile compared to God’s true goodness. Even the best people can be evil at times when we are disobedient to God. I get the feeling that it wasn’t just bad acts that grieved God, it was in the first instance just being disobedient that caused the problems in the first place.

Leave a Reply

