Renewal, Restoration, Refreshment, Rest

That’s what it says at the top of my blog..the subtitle and underlying theme of this site. Sometimes I forget that I put it there.. then all of a sudden I realize that I am longing for all of those. Tomorrow is the first day of summer..what a perfect time to ask for a season when those four Rs will all become real.

My husband was telling me that what he misses most about being a child are the summers. No school, no work.. just a great big time out..to play..rest..enjoy. I miss it too. We need that feeling even more as adults. Being the super serious type.. I realize that if I don’t have that feeling once in a while, life starts to feel like a chore.. a job.. a responsibility. Jesus said He came to give us life.. abundant life..does that sound like a job? He also said that His yoke was easy and His burden was light..does that sound like being worn out and weary?

In the psalms God says “Be still and know that I am God.” That really sounds like rest to me..and peace. So..as we enter the summer season let is be like little children and enter the kingdom of heaven in a new way…faith filled children who trust fully in the goodness of God. We can also be like the birds who know that they will have all they need from the hand of their heavenly Father..they never go without and neither will  we.

I pray that God will bless you with the four things I mentioned at the beginning of this post and renew your faith as you trust Him. I’m asking Him to meet you as you walk with Him..filling you with His Spirit and guiding you into the future.

“You will live in joy and peace.
    The mountains and hills will burst into song,
    and the trees of the field will clap their hands!”

6 thoughts on “Renewal, Restoration, Refreshment, Rest

  1. ‘Renewal, Restoration, Refreshment, Rest’ That says it all really Alicia! All these things I believe we find or can find through a relationship with Jesus. I have just been on a short break to North Wales, and it’s such a nice place with so many things to see, so many nice little towns and villages, so many nice places to eat and lots of really quaint little pubs. I love it so much, and the icing on the cake for me is that you’re never far from open country, beautiful valleys, lovely rivers and green countryside.

    You wrote: ‘Jesus said He came to give us life.. abundant life..does that sound like a job? He also said that His yoke was easy and His burden was light..does that sound like being worn out and weary?’ We often get caught up in things that weary us; I sometimes even think the best of religion just complicates whereas a relationship with Jesus everyday is thrilling, exciting and reinvigorating! Jesus wants us to enjoy life, as long as we don’t live in sin. Real freedom is to be found in Jesus, where we don’t have to indulge to be happy, or be billionaires to be happy, or be the best looking, or the most successful, or living in the best area, and so on, Happiness, real spiritual happiness, goes beyond these things I think and is something God can gift to us, if we’re not too proud to accept!

    Great post.

  2. Love your comment Tim..it is frosting on the cake:) We are off tomorrow for a long awaited vacation in Hawaii.. can’t wait to take in all that beauty that God created for us to enjoy..
    Blessings,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

