Our Father’s World

An email came from one of my favorite authors.. Carolyn James. In the newsletter she included a wonderful quote from J. I. Packer… another great writer. If you have not read her book.. When Life and Beliefs Collide.. I recommend it. God has given her wonderful insights.. they were life changing for me.

Every day I am becoming more aware of the larger story. What I mean is the fact that we live our lives in a story that is much bigger than what we see when we look around. There is another story unfolding that is the one that God has written..the one that we must understand if we are going to survive all the twists and turns of this life.

It is too easy to just look at our circumstances and become immersed in what we are experiencing. It all seems so real and so intense and so difficult. We need the larger story to keep everything in context. God is in control.. He is not absent..uninvolved or too busy. He sees the whole picture of our lives and knows exactly what we need to continue..to blossom..to thrive. We may not be able to grasp it with our minds or feelings.. but if we trust Him.. He will show us glimpses of how it all makes sense.

So..for me.. I come back to Him.. asking for wisdom, insight and understanding. He comes through every single time.

Here’s the quote:

“We are cruel to ourselves if we try to live in this world without knowing about the God whose world it is and who runs it. The world becomes a strange, mad, painful place, and life in it a disappointing and unpleasant business, for those who do not know about God. Disregard the study of God, and you sentence yourself to stumble and blunder through life, blindfolded, as it were, with no sense of direction and no understanding of what surrounds you. This way you can waste your life and lose your soul.”

2 thoughts on “Our Father’s World

  1. Wonderful post Alicia; I really needed to hear this as I am going through hard times at the moment; it seems that’s all I ever do.

    You wrote: ‘Every day I am becoming more aware of the larger story. What I mean is the fact that we live our lives in a story that is much bigger than what we see when we look around.’ Yes, absolutely true. There IS a bigger story running concurrently with our own personal story, a reality that we can miss if we choose not to tune into God, into the faith that will save us.

    You wrote: ‘It is too easy to just look at our circumstances and become immersed in what we are experiencing.’ Oh you didn’t say half enough there Alicia! It’s so very very easy to get caught up in all kinds of troubles, and not see beyond the pain, and not see the point God is trying to make to us; I am caught up in something now; it’s not so bad and it’s not life-threatening or anything really dramatic, it’s just something that’s been part and parcel of my life for a good few years. I am asking God into it and the unease and even pain of the situation and hoping for a better outcome.

  2. Tim.. I’m glad that this post resonated with you. I feel like we need constant reminders to look outside those circumstances that challenge us and seem to draw us into our own small story. I have quite a few of those happening right now myself. God is with us and He will take us through and into a new place. I pray that you wil experience a greater sense of His presence as you walk out this leg of the journey.
    Blessings,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

