Anticipation

I am in that state right now. We are taking a trip in a few weeks and I have been looking forward to it for months. The time is near. I enjoy looking ahead.. sometimes I wish that I was wired so it did not matter, but I’m not. I need to look forward even though I know that living each day is the goal. Are you the same way? I don’t think it is a conflict..we can enjoy the day and at the same time look ahead to the future.

The key for me is trust. If I envision the future on the basis of the past or if I am writing my own small story.. the future can look bleak or scary. If I look ahead with my eyes on God’s goodness and His faithfulness over my lifetime.. I can see only a future designed by Him..a future that is part of the larger story. So every day I make the choice to choose His way and not mine. Not always easy.. but part of the life.

The year is almost half over.. what will the rest of it hold? We don’t know and yet we can anticipate..looking ahead with confidence that prayers will be answered..desires will be fulfilled..life will unfold in just the right way. God is in control and His heart is for us.

“Trust in the Lord and do good.
    Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.
Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you your heart’s desires.”

5 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Yes, I’m looking forwards to a holiday too, in a few weeks. Living in the present and looking forward to the future is a good place for a Christian to be in I think. Better than living in the past anyway.

  2. Trust and waiting, faith and patience! So glad that we can ask the Lord for all these things 🙂

Leave a Reply

