Maundy Thursday

Up until about a year or two ago.. I had never heard of this day. I was raised by atheist Jews and most of my church life was in a charismatic/non-denominational church where Christian history was not a big focus. It is a big day.. the day when Jesus ate the  Passover meal with His disciples before he was crucified.

Since I am spending so much time alone.. I’m not always aware of days and dates.. very strange for someone like me.. an ENFJ..we like structure. So tonight when I realized the date and remembered that tomorrow was good Friday, I thought about what happened two thousand years ago. When Jesus was eating with the twelve, He knew what was going to happen next. It could not have been a surprise. His heart must have been aching to explain things to them..He knew that He would suffer a terrible death..they would not understand what it all meant. He knew they would suffer an unbearable loss and it would result in the greatest rescue that ever happened.

Thinking about all this reminded me of the losses in my own life. Every big loss has been very hard..I wrote about my Dad’s death in my last post. I also lost my uncle shortly after Dad died. In 2008 my sister-in-law died ( she and I were the same age) ..a cousin, I grew up with died, about a year ago.. (he was younger than me) Ten years ago my husband lost his job right after our honeymoon. We met the year 911 happened and he was a casualty of the dot.com collapse the next year. So much loss..not just for me.. our whole country has been in a state of grief for the last decade.

As I continue to mourn my losses.. (I will share more of them in future posts) I want to stop for a moment and remember that day when He was one of us. He felt the deepest grief that could ever be imagined to bring us closer to His heart.

“Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I am doing, but someday you will ”

5 thoughts on “Maundy Thursday

  1. Through all the suffering and all the loss, can come a time when we come to terms with it all, even though given a choice we would not choose to suffer; who would?

    I have had so many losses too, failures to achieve, business ideas that never got off the ground, big dreams that remained just dreams. I have learned that life sometimes doesn’t go the way you planned it, no matter how hard you try to control events and situations, and even try to control other people; life has a way of happening whether you want it to or not. It can’t be easy sharing these things but if one person out there feels comfort from it, you have done your job.

    For me, I put my trust, and all my dreams, ambitions and goals, in the Hands of the Lord; it’s the only way I can live.

  2. You’re right Tim.. we all dream of being able to control things so only good things happen.. in truth that would never work. God’s story for our lives is so big and obviously includes all the losses that we would never choose. It is a hard adjustment to make.. especially if you are like me and love happy endings. In the larger story the ending is more than just a happy one.. it is a new begining 😀

    I enjoy your comments..
    Blessings,
    Alicia

  3. Alicia, you have endured a lot–sorry. But there is hope amid our disappointment. Revelation 21:4 assures us that our disappointments are temporary because in due time God will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

    Thanks for sharing. God bless you

  4. Thanks Noel.. I love that scripture. Our hope is going to be fulfilled one day. He is shaping us here.. so we will be ready for our place there!
    Blessings,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

