Dancing with God

What is she talking about? Well..that is the analogy God gave me for something very special that I am learning from Him. I often wonder.. why is it so hard to understand God’s timing? Sometimes I feel like He is lagging behind me..why doesn’t He move faster? At other times I sense Him being miles ahead of me.. where are you God?

Tonight as I sat down to write He seemed to be saying “dance with me.” It makes so much sense. First of all.. remember He is leading. When two people are dancing they are close together..one is moving and then the other or they are moving at the same moment. There is  rhythm and grace involved. They are sensitive to one another and the one who is leading must feel the confidence of their partner. The music may be soft or loud..slow or fast..the dance can change at any moment.

So..God wants me to stay close to Him..to move with Him when He is ready to move. To wait for Him when He stops. To enjoy this amazing intimacy with Him as we dance through life together. I absolutely love this image of our life with Him. It feels so safe.

When I graduated from seminary 6 years ago God gave me a picture of the two of us dancing across the finish line. I never forgot about it but I failed to realize we are still dancing.. and we will continue all the way across the final finish line that separates our life here from our life in eternity.

May your dance partner come near today and sweep you off your feet. May you sense His arms holding you and His gentle way of leading you. You are dancing too and it is beautiful!

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy”

5 thoughts on “Dancing with God

  1. Awesome post Alicia! This is a perfect example that there is no limit to what God can do. Too many Christians limit God. We seem to forget that He is more than a Delivered. Thank God, this post remind us that we can dance with God.

    Thanks a lot for sharing. God bless you.

  2. Dancing with God! That sounds interesting. Like Jacob who wrestled with God! Two beings moving in harmony; that sounds like a God who truly wants to know us intimately, and who wants us to know Him intimately too.

    When we get into our heads that God isn’t just about religion and doing religious things, but is far more about love and a lasting personal relationship with us on a very intimate basis, we might then begin to see God as He is, and not as sometimes even very religious people like to portray Him.

  3. Noel..You are right.. God is able to do much more than we imagine with our finite minds..

    Tim.. I like the comparison with Jacob wrestling..intimacy can come in many shapes and forms.

    Blessings to both of you!

Leave a Reply

