Happy St. Patrick’s Day

Before I studied in Seminary I never paid much attention to this day. I’m not Irish and I just assumed it was a day created to celebrate drinking and eating too much. Well.. I was wrong. St. Patrick is an amazing figure in the history of the faith. He lived in Wales and was kidnapped when he was 16 and taken to Ireland where he was sold as a slave. He learned the Celtic tongue and grew to understand the Druid culture where he was living. During his captivity he became aware of God’s presence and was able to escape and go to live in a monastery in Gaul for 12 years. He felt called back to Ireland to share His faith. The Celtic Druids imprisoned him several times..but he continued to bring the gospel to that part of the world for the next 30 years..establishing schools and churches.

This man made a difference and risked his life to do it. He was passionate for the Lord and did not let his circumstances discourage him. I fell in love with his story. The way he worked with God to bring good out of evil. I was inspired by his courage..surrounded by enemies.. he kept the faith and dedicated himself to God’s purposes.

Celtic Christianity is fascinating and the history of the faith in that part of the world is inspiring. I don’t know about you, but I need to be reminded that God is on His throne and nothing can change that. Reading stories of the heroes of our faith..who helped establish His kingdom.. gives me courage to continue. We are not alone..the heavenly chorus..made up of those who have come before us.. cheers us on!

Blessings to you this day.. May He bless and uplift you as you trust Him!!

“Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me,
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger”  ( from the breastplate prayer)

 
 

 

One thought on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Reblogged this on Alicia's Roses and commented:

    I wrote this post a couple of years ago.. for anyone who missed it, I thought I would post it again. It is a good reminder of the holiday that we will be celebrating tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

