Retreating

“The act or process of withdrawing, especially from something hazardous, formidable, or unpleasant.” Interesting definition. That word came to mind as I sat down to write. I am on an extended retreat..given by God.. a resting place. In some ways I am doing living out the word ” retreating.” My life is quiet.. I am working to keep it that way so I can recover from the stress of the last few years.

Being in a quiet place can be difficult for those of us who have spent much of our lives rushing from one thing to another. Busyness is the idol of our culture and often the idol of our churches. There appears to be a contest among all of us..who can live the most significant life..serving, giving, doing, doing, doing. I know all about it.. I was one of the contestants.

Not any more.. I quit. No more worrying about my life being meaningful..about God using me..about accomplishing more for His kingdom. God has slowed me down so I can remember..relax..rest and recover. He is reminding me that I belong to Him..that I have followed Him..that He is pleased with me. He is pursuing me to rest in His peace and remember His goodness. He is the Good Shepherd who knows everything about me. He has all my tears in a bottle. He holds me in the palm of His hand. I am His daughter and His friend.

” The Lord is my Shepherd.. I lack nothing”

10 thoughts on “Retreating

  1. it is a good thing to get away from the hustle and bustle of life every now and again.

    God bless you

  2. Great thoughts. “Slowing” is one of the greatest gifts we can give ourselves, but most of the time we are lousy gift-givers. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Great post Alicia; Sometimes, we don’t know what to do for the best. Some people in life have to work very hard because their salary is very low and they have to make ends meet; some people are paid so much they can work for a few years and retire if they want to; lucky so and so’s!!!

    We can, even as Christians, get caught up in worldliness and strife and competition, trying to outdo each other, be more ‘holy’, be more like God even, and I think when we do we make a big mistake. We are all individuals, we all have strengths and we all certainly have weaknesses. Perfectionism is something that can affect anybody, and the perfectionist may just succeed and have a great career and so on, but they might not be happy, really happy. The danger of trying to be perfect is that we start judging ourselves unfairly, and also more to the point we might start judging others by our own faulty standards.

    I am glad you are chilling out, I think rest and relaxation and just enjoying peace and tranquility is most definitely part of God’s plan for us, for each to sit under his (or her!) own vine and fig tree. So much that passes for religion I think is clutter and people’s traditions and ideas, which might not hold any water. If we follow Jesus, and really apply ourselves to what He wants for us and how He wants us to live, we are living the life He came down to earth to give us. Religion is one thing, following Jesus on a daily basis is really something else.

    Thanks for the post.

  4. Thanks for the comments.. I wondered when I posted this if it would ring true for anyone that might read it. It is a major theme in my life right now..receiving the gift of time, peace, quiet and rest from our Great God.

    I appreciate your picture of sitting under the fig tree, Tim. We have redwoods outside our condo and I walk outside just to be near them and breathe in His creation..it is very calming.

    BTW.. I am reading a wonderful book by Richard Foster called Sanctuary of the Soul..Actually I am reading it for the second time.. it is all about this journey toward peace and rest in Him.

  5. I am so envious of the fact you have redwoods outside your home; for me, that would be a blessing on its own! I like rural, I like forests, hills, mountains, country paths and lonely off-the-beaten-track beaches and the like; it’s good for my soul.

    One day it’s my dream to see America, see the cities and towns certainly, but really to just wander, and wonder, off somewhere remote, and definitely a desert or two!

    Thanks for the reply; I love your blog and your Christian philosophy.

  6. Thanks Tim.. BTW are you familiar with the Northumbrian community? I have ordered some things from their website and they seem to be amazing people.

  7. You know, I am not that knowledgeable about Northumbria but like many places around the British Isles, I would love to visit there that’s for sure. That’s NorthEast England whereas I am very much NorthWest. One of the great things about the British Isles is how you can travel a few miles here and there and suddenly not far from a large town or city be in rolling hills and rolling countryside. I do envy those who live in big countries, but even little countries can very much have their charm too.

  8. You might want to check out their website.. they are a community of believers that have a retreat center and resources..they aren’t institutional. I find their prayer book amazing.. of course I am very interested in Celtic Christianity and the stories behind the way God has moved in that part of the world.

    Their website is

    http://www.northumbriacommunity.org/
    .
    just in case you are interested!

Leave a Reply

