His strength.. not ours

We’ve all heard that expression..haven’t we? We can’t do things in our own strength..but what does that really look like? For me.. I usually have to get to the end of my own physical and emotional strength and then I know the only way through is with Him.

I find that I am in that place more and more as I get older. My body is less resilient, my emotional reserve is moving toward empty. So.. I need God more and more everyday. I don’t want to fold up or give up when my own strength fails me.. He will enable me to do the impossible over and over again. I have evidence of this in my life experience.

So many times I felt like I was on the edge..unable to take another step..expecting to fall any minute. He always came for me. He rescued me. He caught me as I fell. He saved me over and over. His faithfulness is unending.

My friend sent me an email with a scripture that I love. I think I had forgotten how much until I saw it again. It comes from the book of 2Chronicles.. chapter 20. This is a great story and if you have not read it recently I suggest you go back to it and breathe in the sovereignty of God that is all over the story of Jehoshaphat. It is amazing and encouraging at every level.

” Don’t be afraid! Don’t be discouraged by this mighty army, for the battle is not yours, but God’s…You will not even need to fight. Take your positions, than stand still and watch the Lord’s victory!”

2 thoughts on “His strength.. not ours

  1. The battle is definitely not ours but the Lord’s. “For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in heavenly places” (Ephesians 6:12).

    Thanks a lot for Sharing AR

    God bless

  2. Thanks Noel.. that scripture is always a great reminder..isn’t it easy to think that everything we see is all there is? The most important things are happening behind the scenes.. where our Lord reigns!

    Blessings,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

