Water for my soul..

Remember when Jesus talked with the Samaritan woman at the well? I’m sure you know that passage in the gospel of John. He is at the well with this woman and he asks her for a drink of water. She’s surprised by his question since the Jews did not associate with Samaritans. He is not bothered by that and continues to speak with her. He captures her attention and offers her something much better than a cup of water. He says to her “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.”

I love this scene. Living water is such a rich image. Our hearts hunger for more.. just as hers did. She was tired of her life and her mistakes and her emptiness and He offered her the water of life. He spoke to her with love and compassion.. pouring the balm of Gilead on her wounds. Our God offers us this same living water.. He longs to fill us to overflowing. He meets us in our dry season with a fresh glass of that living water. He has a pitcher that is always full and if we need to drink and drink and drink.. He will provide all that we need.

All we can do is come to that fountain of life with empty cups and admit our need. To fall down in a heap and cry out for relief. He waits to meet us.. to saturate our souls with the real thing that comes straight from His heart to our weary soul. Fill us up Lord, we need you.

Jesus said, “Everyone who drinks this water will get thirsty again and again. Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.”

One thought on “Water for my soul..

  1. Oh my goodness! Someone we both know just blogged about Serendipity, and here is my moment. I’m so excited to read this.
    The past few days, I’ve been mulling around this story in my head. This is going to be another blog post….
    As you may remember, the “yoga” I do is very hot. Over the course of time, I have let many things go and become very disciplined. I don’t wipe the sweat off any more, I rarely touch my hair (to get it out of my eyes). I’ve learned to just focus on the workout. The last thing that remains is water. Supposedly a true yogi would not need the water. Of course, we both know I have no desire to be a yogi. But, I’ve thought about my complete unwillingness to let go of my water, my thoughts running to how important water is, it’s life. There are many analogies I can make with this…I’m still feeling it out. But, what keeps coming to me is that same tenacious hold I have on my water is the same tenacious hold I have on my hopes. People have often told me that once I let go, then God can move. I often feel a constriction in my heart when people say that. Like there’s something wrong with me that I want more. I know this is a very big subject, and I also know that ultimately my hopes need to rest in Him, and I am giving Him my hopes, and letting Him transform them; but I’m going to keep drinking, both physically and spiritually.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

