Never Give up..

How many times have you heard that phrase? It pops up periodically on my igoogle desktop app. I always get encouraged when I see it.  So many times in my life I have had to wait and wait and wait. With more than 6 decades under my belt.. I can remember things I have  hoped for 40 or 50 years.. Wow! That is hard for me to take in. Our sense of time and our perspective on waiting are very different from God’s. He is eternal and He is not in time. 50 years to Him is nothing.. He created time..imagine that!

So when we wait for something for a year, 5 years, 10 years or more..that does not mean we are to give up and believe that it will never happen. How do we continue to have hope? By trusting that the one who created us and gave us desires will bring them to completion..in His time not ours. It is reassuring to realize that every single thing that God intended for us on this side of eternity will come to pass if we don’t give up..if we don’t walk away..if we follow Him around every corner..through every dark tunnel..holding on as He takes us on detours and leads us into unknown territory.

Life with God is an adventure.. adventures are not always easy..they are often risky. If you are waiting and waiting..keep it up. Trust Him..remember His goodness..keep holding on..don’t give up. Here’s one of my favorite verses..from Psalm 27. It is for you!

“Wait for the LORD;
    be courageous and let your heart be strong.
    Wait for the LORD.”

4 thoughts on “Never Give up..

  1. I see that I have commented on the wrong blog entry here – I actually read the one from today!

    :Alicia – Thanks so much for following your daughter’s link to my blog! And thanks for leaving me a link to you own. Yes, indeed, our paths have been similar. So sorry for the turmoil and the struggle – yet I also know that you have been refined by it all, that truth has emerged and that there is healing even in the midst of heartbreak.

    I want to suggest that you put a facebook link on this site – create a page for your blog. And join twitter – even if you swore you never would! In the 8 months since my retirement, I’ve been out there in cyberspace exploring, discovering wonderful writers and learning how to be more connected to this virtual community. I will subscribe by email – but I’m now in the process of eliminating a whole lot of emails subscriptions as getting posts on FB or twitter is easier and doesn’t crowd my inbox quite so much. There is also a writer’s retreat coming up at The Laity Lodge in Texas at the end of Sept – check out the High Calling’s amazing blog and community: http://www.thehighcalling.org/ I think there is a link somewhere in that maze of a site to this retreat, which still has a few openings, I think.

  2. Thanks Diana.. I have contemplated the facebook idea..but as you may have guessed I resist that idea. I would like to get out a little further since I have so many posts now and I often think of those who never find my blog and might need it.

    I appreciate your input and your visit to my site. I never imagined writing a blog or making friends online. God is so creative and He uses everything.
    Blessings,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

