Stop trying to escape..

That is what God has been saying to me..not in a harsh way..but in a firm way. Stay where you are and face the circumstances that you are in. Stop wishing everything would change. It seems that He knows exactly why I am in these particular circumstances and He is using them to shape me..to strengthen me..to prepare me..to make me more like Him.

My reaction to stressful times is the desire to escape..to dream of flying away to a tropical paradise where there is no pressure and no responsibility. I started dreaming about escaping as a child.. when I was unhappy at home. There were real reasons for my unhappiness..but no one told me that God was with me..so I struggled to make sense of the things that happened.  Everything is different now.

I no longer live in that home..I love my life. That doesn’t mean there aren’t challenges. Relationships are messy.. we are all complicated and each one of us has baggage. It takes courage to stay in the game..it would be easier to withdraw..to become monks..to spend all our time alone with God. That is not His plan or His way. When Jesus was here.. on earth..He spent most of his time with people..hurting people. He did take time away to recharge..we need this to. Then He returned to those who needed His touch.

The message for me is very simple..keep going..realize that the very things we face everyday are there for a purpose and a reason. God is not punishing us..abandoning us, or forgetting us. He is with us…teaching us..molding us, and caring for us.

” Those who trust in the Lord will find new strength..they will soar on wings like eagles!”

 

4 thoughts on “Stop trying to escape..

  1. Wonderful post Alicia.
    It puts into tangible words what we all do to some extent when things get a rough, retreat to our well worn comfort zones – whatever they may be – away from the LORD, others and the place where we really are.
    Thank you for your honesty and sharing your obvious love for the LORD that takes you out of your comfort zone and into those places that the LORD wants you. Those places will always put you squarely where He wants you to be, right next to His side coming ever closer to Him.
    Many blessings to you,
    Sarah

  2. Yes. And Amen.
    I miss our walks together!! Thinking of you a lot these days. Must be God wants me praying more for you! Keeping our hearts knit together even though space now separates us.
    Love you.
    M

  3. Thanks so much Sarah.. you are so right..those “well worn comfort zones”.. I love that phrase. I appreciate your encourgement and your gift with words 🙂
    xo Alicia

  4. Merrill.. I miss you too..and our walks. God knew we would need those memories to keep connected. I’m glad you are reading my blog and I appreciate your desire to pray for me.. I have some challenges ( as you can see) that seem unending. I know they aren’t but still…..
    xox Alicia

Leave a Reply

