Doors

For the last period of time I have been trying doors to see if any of them would open. I was eager to find that next thing that God had for me. I had two distinct experiences. Some doors would open and as soon as I was on the other side I just knew I was in the wrong place. Other doors did not open at all..nothing happened..I could either accept that outcome or try to break down the door..bad idea 🙂

I started to feel like a participant in that game show from decades ago. Let’s see what was it called?  I know..it was ” Let’s make a deal”.. the contestants had to choose a door and they received the prize that was behind that particular door. Instead of getting the prize I felt like I was getting nowhere. I just couldn’t seem to find that right door..the one that would open up to the future. Was God hiding from me? Did He want me to remain in the dark with so many questions and no answers.

No..He was waiting for me to stop trying the doors. To stand still and listen..to tune my ear to His still small voice. Once I did that I saw the door..the one I had been searching for and as soon as I tried it..I knew I was headed in the right direction. I am reminded of that verse that says “His ways are not ours”..we do not have the mind of God. What we do have is the ability to keep seeking..searching.. and listening until we see the path and realize we are heading in the right direction.

So..which door do you choose? How about the door that opens our hearts..the one that relies on the guidance of the Holy Spirit..the one that leads to the throne room of God. The door that takes us into His presence. That is the only door that we need.

“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.”

Leave a Reply

