Walking by faith..

Not by sight. Remember that verse from Hebrews 11. I was reading that chapter this morning and I realized that it was foundational for me. Like you..I want to see ahead…it is a natural desire for many of us. We seem to be wired to look into the future..wishing we had a crystal ball. The thing that helps me the most is to look back..to remember..to see where I have been. We can be so eager to move forward that we forget to reflect on how far He has taken us. My life was in total chaos 12 years ago..I felt like I had no future at all. It was a crisis of faith. All I knew was that God was still God.

As I look back over this last decade I see the restoration and rebuilding that He has done and I am amazed. He led me out of the wilderness into the promised land and I didn’t even realize He was doing it. I was over 50 when all this happened..too old for new things..too tired to keep trying..He carried me over the threshold into the land of milk and honey. I often tell people that my life started over..it wasn’t a new chapter..it was a new book. “By faith Alicia believed God and He was faithful to give her more than she could ever ask for.” That is the legacy I would leave for my grandchildren if I died today. Yes..He is a great God that will keep all His promises in His time.

Are you in a season of waiting..doubting..a crisis of faith? Keep trusting and believing. Read Hebrews 11 and remember they were all just people like you and me. They weren’t supernatural beings with supernatural faith..they were humans who struggled and doubted and felt like giving up..just as we do. He came through for them and He will do that for you. He loves to be trusted..it shows Him that we understand His love for us and that we believe in His goodness.

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us the assurance about things we cannot see.”

2 thoughts on “Walking by faith..

  1. Dear Alicia,
    This is a beautiful post. Sometimes our life is stripped away from us and our future looks non-existant. And, all we know is that somehow God is God, and we need to trust Him no matter what our age or place in life is. Thank you for sharing this it is a great encouragement to me.
    Many blessings, Sarah

  2. Thank you Sarah.. It can be so difficult to keep on with the journey when there are no glimpses. I think of it as the time when our faith is being stretched to the limit..His faithfulness is all we have.
    xo Alicia

Leave a Reply

