Ezekiel 34

I read this chapter for the first time..or maybe I just understood it for the first time almost a decade ago. It is a powerful picture of what is happening today. Here’s a quote ” What sorrow awaits you shepherds who feed yourselves instead of your flock.” How many people are being fed and nurtured inside our churches? Not enough. How many shepherds are only concerned about themselves? Too many. Many of God’s people won’t set foot in a church..it is not hard to understand why. Something has gone very wrong.

Ezekiel’s message is for those people The Lord says “I now consider these shepherds my enemies and I will hold them responsible for what happened to my flock.” God sees. God knows. He is pursuing those who have been hurt. His desire is to heal their broken hearts. He wants to pour the balm of Gilead on their wounds. His heart breaks for every person who has been hurt by those they trusted the most. He knows that pain..remember Judas?

If you are one of these people..remember that He is the same..He has not changed..He is for you..He is with you and you belong to Him.

God says ” I myself will search and find my sheep. I will be like a shepherd looking for a scattered flock. I will find my sheep and rescue them from all the places where they were scattered…I will bring them safely home again. I will bandage the injured and strengthen the weak.”

2 thoughts on “Ezekiel 34

  1. Hi Alicia! I’m so glad we have some wonderful shepherds within our church – you are one of them. Love you and so appreciate your prayers. Thank you for your messages – they are so meaningful to me xxoo

  2. Hi Liz.. Thank you so much for the encouragement. I hope you are doing well.. recovering quickly and in good spirits. I feel so grateful that God uses my blog for others..nothing could be better.

    See you soon..love, Alicia

Leave a Reply

