Choosing God

About a decade ago I came to a huge turning point in my life. I was facing a crisis of faith. One day I heard myself saying to someone “no matter what happens I am choosing God.” This person did not understand and believed that it was impossible for me to make that decision ahead of time. I knew that I needed to make it and I was convinced that God wanted me to choose Him before I had any answers about my future. That decision turned out to be incredibly important.

I entered a period of great change and emotional turmoil. My life, as I knew it, was turned upside down. Everything I had hoped for was shattered. I ran to God. He remembered my choice and met me in unexpected ways. He took me from a broken life into a restored life. He healed my broken heart and began filling my life with one blessing after another. What would have happened if I had not made that choice? Where would I be now?

Reflecting on all this has helped me realize once again.. I must choose God. Every day in every circumstance..at all times..no matter what. We live in uncertain times..the world is not stable. We can’t count on our own understanding and ability. Things are shaking all around us. The world is unrecognizable in many ways..technology has changed everything so quickly. We can’t keep up no matter how hard we try. Where do we go with our fears and anxiety?

To the very same place I went 11 years ago..to the heart of God. It has not changed. He is still able to take us through every crisis..to restore our hope..to renew our strength..to carry us when we cannot walk another step. We still need to choose Him. He chose us.

“Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes.”

2 thoughts on “Choosing God

Leave a Reply

