Risk

You will find this word in many of my posts. Over the years I have become convinced that God is a huge risk taker. The fact that He gave us free will confirms this. He certainly could have created us without the capacity to choose. He did not. Not only did He give us choices, He gave us the ability to reject Him totally. Think about that. The creator of the universe took the risk of losing every one of us..His beloved.. His bride.. His chosen ones.

Once we choose life with Him..we begin to live on that same edge. Life with God reminds me of what it must be like to ride waves on a surfboard. The sea is glassy and calm and then a wave comes..you have to catch it and stand up to ride it in to shore. As you ride the crest of the wave you can see the coastline and the beauty of the ocean. Your heart expands as you get your balance. You did it.. you made it.. Wow! Then you do the whole thing all over again and again and again. Ride after ride after ride.

Are you willing to take that next ride? It may not be safe..but it will be an adventure. It can’t be done without Him. It requires faith and trust in His goodness. Your next move may look crazy to anyone but God. In fact others may not see it at all. Only you know what God is calling you to do. You are the only one who hears His voice for your life. If you are waiting for Him to show you the next step..stay hopeful. You are not forgotten. He will speak and He will reveal all that you need to know in His time. Prepare yourself for that next big wave. It is coming. The sea cannot stay calm and glassy forever. Trust Him to carry you to shore.

“What do you want me to do for you?”Jesus asked.

2 thoughts on “Risk

  1. Hi Alicia,

    Thank you so much for this post. It has come at just the right time for me as I am about to take a huge step out in faith that doesn’t make sense to anyone else, and is huge, stressful and risky step for me. I just know it’s what God wants me to do.

    Thank you for your posts, God is certainly using them in my life, and others too, I’m sure.

    Blessings, Sarah

  2. Thank you Sarah. He keeps giving me opportunities to step out and as I take each one there is a blessing that follows in a way that I would never expect. Every step is a challenge and I often feel like shrinking back but He gives me courage.

    I will pray that your leap of faith is rewarded. I am sure He is pleased with your desire to follow Him fully.

    Blessings,
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

