A place of peace..

He provides that for us. A place where we can go and rest. A quiet place. God sits at the center of every storm..quietly waiting for us to call upon Him. He will act immediately on our behalf. I wonder why it takes us so long to ask. Self-sufficiency or self-reliance is one reason. Depending on our own ability to navigate treacherous waters. I know I am guilty of that..not wanting to ask for help. Trying to be strong.

I was reminded of this as I made a phone call to Hospice last week. Facing this last season of my mother’s life has been very difficult. She is not on her death bed..but it is coming closer. I need some help and support to walk the rest of the way. I thought I was calling them to get her help..really I am the one who needs the support right now. As a counselor that is an interesting place to find yourself. It is humbling. I don’t have it all together and I never will..neither do you.

We need God to make the waters calm and we need each other. Our struggles may overwhelm us and the pressures of our situation can close in on us. Just as the disciples woke Jesus up in the boat to ask Him to quiet the storm.. we need to call on Him in our storm and ask for help from people when we need it. He will move immediately on our behalf providing for us.. if we call out to Him.. in humility and honesty. Our needs matter to Him and He does not leave us alone to ” just deal with it.” He is for us and with us and His desire is to meet us right where we are and to bring us support and encouragement..to lead us to that place of peace in the eye of the storm.

“He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves.”Quiet! Be still! Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.”

4 thoughts on “A place of peace..

  1. Hi Alicia,
    You came to mind this morning and the verse “Be strong and courageous” from Joshua 1:6 came to mind. I just thought I’d share this with you in light of your blog today. He is amazing in how he takes care of us and keeps us in His peace in the eye of the storm.
    Blessings, Sarah

  2. Thanks Sarah.. God has used that verse in the past..during some really difficult seasons. Your comment is so encouraging. I am praying for courage as I meet with the Hospice nurse and my Mom this afternoon.

    I am so glad that God has connected us..
    Blessings,
    Alicia

  3. Hi Alicia – really good post. I know that my first response is to try to “be strong” – for Mark, for the kids… I tell myself that it’s just the way I am. When I am able to sit with the Lord (and I’m glad to say that my cancer diagnosis has encouraged more of this!) I’m so grateful to be able to just let it go and give all up to Him. Hope your meeting yesterday went well – I’m praying for both you and your mom! xxoo

  4. Thanks Liz.. I appreciate your prayers. Hospice is not coming in right now..but God used the meeting to open up all kinds of things with Mom and me. He is at work.

    I am so glad that you are able to be vulnerable with God. I am praying for you. He is with you!

Leave a Reply

