Confrontation

No.. I don’t like this word. In fact I would rather avoid it completely. Some of us are peacemakers by nature..confronting someone can seem like our worst nightmare. We don’t always see eye to eye with one another. There are times in life when we must say something knowing it will cause conflict or at least disagreement. So why bother?

Confrontation is necessary..for change and for growth. Confrontation is a biblical concept. When He was on earth, Jesus continually confronted people with the truth. He did not avoid difficult issues and He was not trying to please people. He brought truth into each and every situation..just read the stories in the gospels. He was not weak or fearful. He was not nice. He loved people too much to cover up the truth or fear hurting their feelings. So what does that have to do with us?

We are called upon to love in that same way. To be courageous and speak truth even when the reaction may be uncomfortable. God’s ways are counter intuitive to us. His priority in relationships is openness, authenticity, and honesty. Godly relationships have difficult moments. Someone’s feelings may get hurt..it an be messy. The alternative is phoniness and hiding. Neither of those things belong in the kingdom of God. He shines light into every dark place.

Confrontation is not a bad word. It can bring healing and restoration to broken relationships. Facing the truth and being willing to deal with it is often the first step in reconciliation. We have the Holy Spirit to help us as we navigate through our relationships. He will give us courage and wisdom. He will enable us..as we ask Him.. to speak the truth in love. If we take the risk of living this way we will experience deeper and richer relationships both with God and others.

” I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”

3 thoughts on “Confrontation

  1. Thank you Alicia! This is just what I needed to read today. God is so good:) I really appreciate what you write, how you write it and that God is seen so clearly in your words.
    Blessings, Sarah

  2. Thanks Sarah.. I know He wants me to write the blog.. but there are days when I wonder if it is encouraging anyone. I appreciate your willingness to let me know how you feel.

    BTW I have been reading your blog.. I appreciate your writing gift and the way you express yourself.. He is using you in my life.

  3. Hi Alicia,

    Sometimes it does feel like what you’re writing is going into the black hole, doesn’t it?

    I feel that way too, but know that this is what He wants me to do. And, if we know that He is directing us to write and we are being faithful in that, then we also know He will get those people who need to read what we’ve written to our blog’s.

    I know that He led you to my blog, because I get such encouragement from yours.

    Many blessings to you, Sarah

Leave a Reply

