We can never stand still..

As people who choose to walk with God we can never stand still. Of course I am not talking about being still.. you know that I attach great importance to that concept. I am referring to our emotional and spiritual growth. If we are not moving forward..growing..learning..taking risks..pressing in..and desiring more of Him, we are stuck. We may think we are just in a holding pattern but the truth is we will lose ground. Life with God is about movement.. we choose the direction by the decisions we make every day.

If we choose to be fearful, doubtful, and reluctant to take risks.. we will fall behind. Yes.. we are all moving one way or another.. either forward or slipping backward into a place of apathy and eventually depression. God is calling us to come closer.. to seek His face.. to encounter Him in new ways and to follow Him as He leads us. Picture yourself on a narrow winding path that leads somewhere mysterious. You cannot see very far in front of your own feet..just enough vision for the next step. Either you take that step or you will get tired of standing in one place and eventually you will turn back to familiar ground.

God knows that next step.. and all the other steps that will follow. He sees and He leads. He is out in front clearing the way for you. He never drags you.. He invites you to trust Him.. to believe that He will keep you safe. Your part is to do the next thing He shows you and ask for faith and grace if you need to. Your path is your path and there not be many others on it.. it is the way that is best for you.. the path that is filled with surprises and gifts that God has prepared for you.

How can I be so sure of this? It is the story of my life.. My God has prepared the way for me. He has led me through the wilderness. He has fed me, clothed me, healed me,surprised me, amazed me, and provided everything for me as I have trusted Him. He told me to tell you all this so you would not be afraid. He will do all theses things for you.. day by day..moment by moment. He delights in you..you are the apple of His eye..He is calling your name.

” Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.”

Live for today.. the future is safe with Him.

Leave a Reply

