Seasons of Grief

Today I had to tell my aging mother that she was not returning to her assisted living residence and would more than likely need to be in a nursing home environment for the rest of her life. What a day.. I agonized over telling her and I cried over what it meant to me to actually have this conversation. She is losing her independence and I am losing my mother.. we are both grieving. Grieving is necessary and without it we could never make it through our losses. I have grieved many times throughout my life and it is always difficult. It is painful and it is deep. Yet within the grief there is something else. I noticed it again today. God’s presence and purposes were evident as I spoke with Mom.

He is pursuing her and using this season to reach her heart. He never stops. Although this is something I hoped I would never face.. I know that His ways are not mine. He will stop at nothing to capture my mother’s heart. He will use whatever means to reach her before her time here is up. He is amazing and relentless in His love for us.

I am so thankful that there is redemption in every situation. I am so grateful that I see His hand in all of it.. it makes so much difference. I do not grieve as one who is hopeless but instead I find my hope in Him. He will carry me through this season and He will carry you through the season that you are in.

If you are grieving, hurting, waiting, or longing.. do not be discouraged. He is going to meet you and He has not forgotten you. He is preparing you in this time for things you cannot imagine. You are being strengthened even when you feel like you could not be weaker. Our God does not makes mistakes and He is not out to get us. He is for us.. He loves us.. He is crazy about us.. He will come for us.

“The Lord directs the steps of the godly. He delights in every detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will not fall. For the Lord holds them by the hand.”

He leads me beside still waters.

2 thoughts on “Seasons of Grief

  1. I am so sorry to hear that your mother is unable to go back to her home. I can imagine the difficulty in telling her and the heartache you have encountered in all of this recent upheaval. He indeed is working it to His good and that of your unsaved mother.

    Thank you for sharing your tender grief with us and I am praying that your Mom will “see” and know the love of her Heavenly Father in the midst of all the unknowns.

    You have expressed His hope so beautifully in this post. May your Mother’s Day be blessed.

Leave a Reply

