Twists and Turns

Yesterday’s post got me thinking about the road we walk with God. One of the ways we can be redirected is through disappointment. When a door that we wanted to walk through shuts.. God is sending us in another direction. Those moments are very difficult. I tend to get discouraged when these things happen.. I find myself saying ” but God I thought..”  I think there is a clue there somewhere. I thought I knew what was going to happen.. but I was wrong. Did you notice how many times the word “I”  is showing up.  It begins to sound like everything is about me doesn’t it? Exactly!

So the only thing that helps is to refocus on God’s sovereignty. Everything is truly about Him.. His path for our lives.. His purposes for us.. His ways.. His direction.. His wisdom.. His protection. That last one is very important.. His protection. When a door shuts or a direction changes He is protecting us from something that will harm us. He knows us, He loves us and He cares deeply for us.. He will never lead us down a path that is meant to destroy us. He delights in us and His plan is the very best for us.

When the road you are on is confusing and painful things are happening.. Trust that He is leading. When the doors keep shutting or when you can’t even see a door.. Trust that He knows the way. When you are misunderstood and treated unfairly.. Trust that He is with you. When you are in the dark.. Trust that He is not.. He knows, He sees, and He will take you where you need to go in His time.

” Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek His will in all that you do and He will show you the path to take”

A favorite path..

Leave a Reply

